Aug 102016
 

As you know, Fabio and I got invited to a ton of weddings this year, and a few months back when I was planning what I would wear to each of them I got really stumped! While I definitely have a decent amount of nice dresses to wear to weddings, there came a point where I realized I was probably going to have to go out an buy something new to wear for at least some of them.

It was around this time that I started thinking about trying Rent the Runway! A few of my friends had tried it in the past and were pleased with how everything worked out, so after staring at my collection of dresses that I’ve worn tons of times already, I decided to give it a shot.

renttherunwayreview

Signing up was easy, and once I was logged in I browsed through tons of dresses that I liked and was able to save them to different “wish lists” in my account. I made lists for the different weddings I was planning to get dresses for (one for Jay and Meg’s black tie wedding and one for Bobby and Dani’s regular one) and then once I had a few contenders I took screenshots of my options and sent them to a few of my girlfriends for feedback (as one does). They helped me narrow down my choices and then I selected the dates I would need the dresses for, chose my size, clicked my way through the payment process and voila! Dresses = purchased.

A couple of days before Bobby and Dani’s wedding, the first dress arrived! For this wedding, I initially chose the Sangria Claire Dress from Elizabeth and James, which was $70 to rent and would have cost $365 to buy.

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 10.02.03 AM

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 10.02.09 AM

When you order a dress from Rent the Runway you can get a second size for free, so I got a 4 and a 6. When I tried on the 4 it was SUPER tight, but I tried on the 6 and it fit ok. It was definitely still tight, but I was ok with how it looked. Unfortunately when I took the size 6 dress off I noticed it had a bit of a stain/water mark on it, and since it was so close to the wedding I didn’t think I would have time to get it dry cleaned. Obviously this was very, very annoying and definitely wasn’t a good first impression for my experience with Rent the Runway.

Thankfully I had Friday off from work due to my summer flex schedule so I was able to bring both sizes of the dress to my local Rent the Runway store in Georgetown and make an exchange. When I explained my situation to the staff at the store they were very apologetic and immediately set me up with a computer so I could browse the dresses in their store and exchange the dresses with something that would work.

I wound up finding a dress that I actually liked even more than the original one, and I got a $25 credit to my account because of the stain issue. Not bad at all!

The dress that I got from the store is the Lavender Floral Marceline Maxi dress from Parker (size 4), which cost $80 to rent and would have cost $398 to buy.

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 9.59.48 AM

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 9.59.56 AM

(FYI – that’s a slit in the back.)

I really loved this dress and felt so good in it at Bobby and Dani’s wedding. I also received a ton of compliments on it too! It was a little long on me but I wore flat sandals since it was an outdoor wedding on the water, and I’m sure if I had worn heels it would have been fine.

IMG_4536

When I was done with the dress I zipped it back into the bag and dropped it off at a UPS box down the street from me, which was the easiest thing ever. I was actually sort of sad to return this one; it was so beautiful and I bet I could have found an occasion to wear it again.

Then a few days later, my dress arrived for Jay and Meg’s black tie wedding! For this wedding I chose the Hudson Gown by Laundry by Shelli Segal (size 4) which cost $100 to rent and would have been $325 to buy.

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 9.59.15 AM

I especially loved the back of this one!

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 9.58.52 AM

I tried to order a size 4 and a size 6 of this dress since the second size is free, but the 6 was unavailable so I wound up getting a size 4 and a size 8. The 4 fit pretty well but was a little snug and the 8 was HUGE up top so I think a 6 really would have been best, but in the end the 4 was just fine.

This dress was absolutely perfect for Jay and Meg’s wedding, and once again I received so, so, so many compliments on it.

IMG_4695

I also thought that Rent the Runway was perfect for this occasion because I don’t go to many black tie events that would require me to actually own a dress like this, and even if I did, a bright red dress is pretty memorable so I wouldn’t want to wear it again for quite a while. Renting this dress from Rent the Runway was perfect!

All in all, I was really happy with my experience with Rent the Runway even if it didn’t start off on the best foot. I thought the ordering process was really easy and the staff at the store made me feel a lot better about having to go in to make an exchange due to a stain on one of the dresses. I loved both of the dresses that I got and even surprised myself by wanting to keep the first one. I do think this service is fairly expensive just to rent a dress (I’m very cheap/frugal!) but I definitely think it’s worth it for special occasions like black tie weddings or if you have 7 weddings to go to in one year. 😉

First time users of Rent the Runway can also get $30 off with my referral code here. If you try it out, I hope you like the service as much as I did!

Question of the day: Have you ever tried Rent the Runway? How did it go?

Note: This post was not sponsored in any way, although it does include a referral link. All opinions are my own. Thank you for your support. 

 Posted by on August 10, 2016

  4 Responses to “Rent the Runway Review”

  1. What a great idea! And both of those dresses are beautiful!

  2. How’s the georgetown location?–do they have a good selection or is it limited? I have done RTR twice and had one great experience and one not so great experience….I would rather go into the store and try on dresses to rent than get it in the mail…

  3. That red dress is what dreams are made of. I have an Air Force ball to attend in Baltimore in September, and I’m tempted to use Rent the Runway! Super happy to have such a detailed review!

    Recently posted -> “How Do You Know When You Should Quit Your Job? “https://poweredbysass.com/2016/08/11/how-do-you-know-when-you-should-quit-your-job/

  4. I LOVE Rent the Runway! I rented a Herve Leger dress for a friend’s wedding that I also wished I could keep. It made sense to rent because those dresses are over $1,000. Out of the three Herve Leger dresses I rented, 2 were stretched out.

    I have also rented a gown that I adored but didn’t see the point in owning.

    I love the site, and love that you can see photos of real girls wearing the dress and compare their size to yours to know what size to order. Their reviews are also so helpful!

Leave a Reply